Pamela Shaw
United Kingdom, Sheffield
Director of the Sheffield Institute for Translational Neuroscience (SITraN), University of Sheffield


Current Positions
  • Professor of Neurology, University of Sheffield
  • Director, Sheffield Institute for Translational Neuroscience (SITraN)
  • Director, NIHR Biomedical Research Centre Translational Neuroscience for Chronic Neurological Disorders
  • Director, Sheffield Care and Research Centre for Motor Neuron Disorders
  • Consultant Neurologist, Sheffield Teaching Hospitals NHS Foundation Trust
Professor Shaw graduated in Medicine with 1st Class Honours from the University of Newcastle in 1979. She undertook her MRCP and Specialist Training in Neurology training in Newcastle. In 1988 she was awarded an MD with commendation for her work on the neurological complications of coronary bypass surgery. After an intermediate fellowship award from the Wellcome Trust, she was awarded a Wellcome Senior Fellowship in Clinical Science which she held from 1991 -2000. In 1997 she was appointed Professor of Neurological Medicine at the University of Newcastle and in 2000 was appointed as Professor of Neurology at the University of Sheffield.
As an undergraduate in Newcastle she was awarded the Stephen Scott; Gibb; Mary Gordon; Mona McNaughton and Phillipson Prizes/Scholarships and achieved distinction in all undergraduate examinations.
Postgraduate Awards
  • 2017 Honorary Degree, University of Bradford for internationally recognized work in the field of Neurology and instrumental work in setting standards of excellence in the clinical care for patients.
  • 2017 Honorary Doctor of Medicine, University of Sussex in recognition of major contribution to the field of Neurology.
  • 2017 University of Sussex Brain Visiting Professorship
  • 2017 Kosterlitz Lecture, University of Aberdeen.
  • 2016 Croonian Lecture, UK Royal College of Physicians
  • 2015 Osler Lecture, Association of Physicians of the United Kingdom and Ireland
  • 2015 Elected Fellow of the American Association for the Advancement of Science for groundbreaking basic and translational research of relevance to the understanding and treatment of neurodegenerative diseases.
  • 2014 Dame Commander of the Order of the British Empire (DBE) for services to Neuroscience
  • 2014 Jacobson Visiting Professorship, University of Newcastle upon Tyne
  • 2013 Alfred Meyer’s Memorial Award Lecture British Neuropathological Society
  • 2013 NIHR Senior Investigator Award
  • 2013 UK ACCEA Platinum Clinical Excellence Award
  • 2012 Gary and Peggy Edwards Distinguished Visiting Professorship for ALS, Houston USA
  • 2012 Elected President of the North of England Neurological Association
  • 2012 Visiting Professorship, Association of Physicians (Kerala Chapter) India
  • 2012 Elected to membership of the Medical Pilgrims
  • 2007 The International ALS/MND Forbes Norris Award for excellence in research and compassion in clinical care
  • 2007 Fellowship of the Academy of Medical Sciences
  • 2007 Spinoza Visiting Professorship, University of Amsterdam
  • 2006 Royal College of Physicians Jean Hunter Prize for research into nervous disorders
  • 2004 Invited Fellowship of the American Neurological Association
  • 2001 American Academy of Neurology and ALS Association Sheila Essey Award for outstanding research contribution in amyotrophic lateral sclerosis/ motor neurone disease
  • 2000 Hong Kong Neurological Association Li Po Shan/ Dr Vincent Liu visiting Professorship
  • 1997 Invited Fellowship of the American Academy of Neurology
  • 1996 Renewal of Wellcome Senior Fellowship in Clinical Science
  • 1995 British Medical Association Vera Down Award
  • 1992 Poster Research prize at the Third International Symposium on ALS/MND
  • 1991 Award of Wellcome Senior Fellowship in Clinical Science
  • 1991 Association of British Neurologists Sir Charles Symonds Prize
  • 1990 North of England Neurological Association Liversedge Research Prize
  • 1985 Northern Regional Health Authority David Dickson Research Prize
  • 1985 Association of Physicians UK Dewar Research Prize
  • 1985 British Cardiac Society Young Investigator of the Year award
Processing. Please wait.